Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Laudrup 08:00 - Sep 20 with 35325 viewssj_jack

I wonder if he fancies sticking around a bit longer?
Laudrup on 14:54 - Sep 22 with 3082 viewsSkyblue

First post, some time lurker :)

Ok, so first of all, I dont think ML is going anywhere because of a big fat check. He has the money he needs to retire already.

2nd, I dont think Swansea will crumble should he leave. The board in Swansea obviously have done a great job of picking good coaches AND staying the course with buying playersto fit into the playstyle they have selected.

Let me elaborate on that a second. I worked as a consultant for a company, where each year, they fired the CEO. The one I worked with was brilliant, knew exactly what she wanted to change. but noone listened. Why, because they knew she would be gone soon. And she was. The 10th CEO in 10 years.

Now look at football clubs. How long time does it take to change replace players, retrain them to change the playstyle to fit the new manager? Usually, 3 years. Thats how long it took Sir Alex Ferguson, one of the best ever. How long time do a coach get? In spain, 3 months. And so you have clubs like Chelsea, Madrid and you know them, that have a new coach each year. And then you have clubs like Arsenal that does very well for their budget, by having an overall strategy. And then you have Swansea, where they think ahead, and select to manager to fit the squad and playstyle.